Masters Degree Grading Scale In Nigeria (Full Guide)

Sponsored Links

Are you considering pursuing a master’s degree in Nigeria? Understanding how grading works can be crucial for your academic journey and future career prospects. In this guide, we’ll break down the grading system for master’s degrees in Nigerian universities in 2024, making it easy to grasp.

Master’s Degree Grading in Nigeria: Simplified

Why It Matters: Earning a master’s degree in Nigeria can open up doors to career growth, specialized knowledge, and personal development. But before you dive in, knowing how the grading system works is essential.

Different Grading Systems: Unlike undergraduate programs, there isn’t a single grading scale for master’s degrees in Nigeria. Each university sets its own system, which can vary even within departments and programs.

Apply Now:  Nigeria Army College Of Nursing, Yaba Hostel Fees For 2024/2025

Common Grading Scales: There are two main grading scales you’re likely to encounter:

  1. 5-Point Scale:
    • A = 70-100% (5 points)
    • B = 60-69% (4 points)
    • C = 50-59% (3 points)
    • F = Below 50% (0 points)
  2. 7-Point Scale:
    • Similar letter grades but with a wider range and potentially different grade point assignments.

Interpretations and Classifications:

Even if two universities use the same grading scale, how they interpret grades and classify them can differ. For instance, one university might consider anything above 75% as “Distinction,” while another might set the bar at 80% or higher.

Apply Now:  UNIJOS 2024/2025 Post UTME/DE Registration Form: How To Apply

Examples from Prominent Universities:

Let’s look at how some well-known universities in Nigeria handle grading:

  • University of Ibadan: Uses a 5-point scale, with “Distinction” starting from 75% and “Pass” set at 50%.
  • University of Nigeria, Nsukka: Employs a 5-point scale but with varying interpretations of “Distinction” and “Pass” depending on the program.
  • Obafemi Awolowo University: Mostly uses a 5-point scale, though certain programs might utilize a 7-point scale.
  • University of Port Harcourt: Adopts a 5-point scale but may have different interpretations for classifications like “Distinction” and “Pass” based on the program.
  • Lagos State University: Mainly employs a 5-point scale, but specific programs could have their own variations.
Apply Now:  JAMB Subject Combination For Mass Communication In Unilag


Understanding how master’s degree grading works in Nigeria is crucial for success in your academic pursuits. While there might be variations across universities and programs, knowing the basics can help you navigate this aspect of your educational journey effectively.

Sponsored Links

Leave a Reply

Back to top button